Our Programs

Ranger Kids (Grades K-2)

Ranger Kids Logo

Boys in Kindergarten, 1st Grade, and 2nd Grade (approximately ages 5-7) participate in the Ranger Kids program.  This impressionable age group is foundational in providing the background and training for additional participation in the Royal Rangers program.  The boys follow a well-designed three-year advancement trail that ends with their graduation to the Discovery Rangers program.

Discovery Rangers (Grades 3-5)

Ranger Kids Logo

Boys in 3rd Grade, 4th Grade, and 5th Grade (approximately ages 8-10) participate in the Discovery Rangers program.  This program has a flexible advancement structure based in camping and non-camping activities.  Boys are able to move at their own pace within the merit-driven advancement system.  Merit patches with red and blue borders, along with the orange-bordered Bible merits are aimed at this age group.  Like the Ranger Kids program, Discovery Rangers has a three-year advancement trail that ends with the boys graduating into the Adventure Rangers program.

Adventure Rangers (Grades 6-8)

Ranger Kids Logo

Boys in 6th Grade, 7th Grade, and 8th Grade (approximately ages 11-13) participate in the Adventure Rangers program.  Like the Discovery Rangers program, the boys will develop advanced camping and non-camping skills, and the advancement trail is merit driven.  Merit patches with green and gold borders, along with the brown-bordered Bible merits are aimed at this age group.  This is also when the boys can begin participation in the Frontiersman Camping Fellowship (FCF).  At this time, the boys are working toward earning their Gold Medal of Achievement (GMA), the most prestigious award that any Royal Ranger can attain (and every bit as challenging as becoming an Eagle Scout in BSA).

Expedition Rangers (Grades 9-12)

Ranger Kids Logo

Young men who are freshmen, sophomores, juniors, and seniors in high school (approximately ages 14-17) participate in the Expedition Rangers program. Expedition Rangers has its roots from the original “Air/Sea/Trail Rangers” of the 70’s to mid 90’s and the “Challengers” programs of the mid to late 90’s. Today Expedition Rangers has four separate categories, which are “Achievement”, “Activities”, “Leadership”, and “Service”. Each part of Expedition Rangers is designed for different interests teen boys may have. The development of these interests is accomplished through earning the E1, E2, and E3 Awards. Silver bordered merits are designed specifically for the Expedition Rangers program and participants are able to perform Christian service missions and attend HonorBound Men’s Ministries events.  Another part of the Expedition Rangers advancement trail is the Spirit Challenge.  This is part of the final step in preparing the young men of the church to assume leadership roles (in their home and in their church).

Comments are closed.